Home » Uncategorized » Lost

Lost

www.hotelwailea.comRecently I just made my big education finale (for now anyway).  I graduated college with my Bachelors Degree!  It’s an accomplishment I am extremely over the moon about.  For me, college graduation represented a lot of things.  It was a symbol of graduating a chapter of self doubt and personal issues.  It represented the end of a chapter that I gained my sense of self and signifies the start of a new chapter, full of brand new adventures.

These brand new adventures happen to scare the crap out of me.  It doesn’t help that everyone who congratulates me follows their statement with the million dollar question, “So what do you have lined up?”  My response has been, “I plan on breathing into a brown bag and seeing what happens.”

Truth is, I have absolutely no idea when I’m going to land my first official big girl job.  I’m hoping it will be sooner than later, and I’m hoping it will be one that will jumpstart my official career goals.  But let’s face it, like most of my college peers, I’m just… a little lost.

I would hear that certain people had such great jobs lined up after graduation, and my stomach would be full of knots.  Why was I a step behind?  But I’ve realized now, that finding a job is much like finding yourself – everyone moves differently and things come at the time they are supposed to.

I think it’s okay for me and fellow graduates to feel lost right now.  Because as I think back, every single time I felt lost, I ultimately found a lesson that I needed to.  Sometimes being lost isn’t just not knowing where to go.  Being lost can sometimes just mean keeping an open mind to other paths along the way to your planned destination.

When I first entered college, it was a big, new, scary world that I felt super small in.  I wasn’t sure I was going to stay there for the full four years, I was a Liberal Arts Major, completely unsure of what I was going to get a degree in.  I was lost.  Yet, as I walked off campus for the last time, I felt like I made the most out of the opportunities that were given to me, and that I made my presence known.  I found “it.”  And the “it” I’m referring to encompasses everything I was so completely lost about.  Now, I enter the next big, new, scary world (the real world), and I know I’m going to feel even smaller.  But just like in college, I know that everything I feel lost about, will somehow help me find exactly what I’m looking for.

So to my fellow graduates – congratulations and take a breath.  It’s okay to be lost.  It’s actually important to be lost, because when we allow ourselves to be truly lost, we allow ourselves to find the endless possibilities along our paths.

7b67da86cac73fe90ed2b262a9b71514

One thought on “Lost

  1. Everyone is “lost” at some times in their life. I sometimes still feel “lost” at 79 years old. Living in an adult community for 20 years means most of my friends are either dead or in very poor health. What awakens me is to “take one day at a time” and be assured that GOD will lead me to the right place at the right time. Your time will come, remember you were voted by your high school friends as “the Girl most likely to succeed” and you will prove them right. Take your time to find yourself. Love you to the moon and back – GG

Leave a Reply

