Home » Uncategorized » Cheers To You

Cheers To You

a9ba3d1c5260868d9a5e0aff189b9367

I take a new year pretty seriously.  I know a lot of people think it’s cliche to do the whole New Year’s resolutions, but I don’t.  I think it’s a way to regroup and redirect your energy.  For several years now I always write my resolutions down for the year.  The past five years or so, I have also started writing a yearly reflection which includes what I learned.  I don’t look at the reflections or resolutions until the next year when it’s time to write another one.  It’s one of my favorite traditions that I do, and it’s a really great way to see how you have progressed as a person over the years.  It’s pretty cool to see how my goals have changed, along with my mindset.

I was once very negative, and over the years I have realized how important positive energy is.  Now staying optimistic, keeping a positive mindset, and giving off positive energy is something that I am very conscious of; and therefore I’m very aware of any negative energy brought upon by someone else and my alarm goes off real quick.  This past year I have realized more than ever that when you send out good energy, the universe responds with good energy.  And sometimes, the good energy that you project has a huge influence on other people.  Good energy helps promote change, no doubt about it.

Everyone goes through struggles, and a new year is a way of saying you’ve survived them.  It’s a way to celebrate with your support system that you are bigger than your obstacles.  This past year I have realized that I have an amazing support system behind me.  I know that not everyone is as lucky as me when it comes to the people they have cheering for them.  So for those who don’t have the support that I do, though it may not mean much to you, here’s to you.

For everyone who got themselves out of a rut in 2014… cheers to you.  For everyone who broke free from a terrible situation… cheers to you.  For everyone who had to deal with the loss of a loved one… cheers to you.  For everyone who was bullied, abused, outcasted, and didn’t choose self harm… cheers to you.  For everyone who did something they didn’t think they could… cheers to you.  For everyone who embraced life… cheers to you.  For everyone who made someone else smile… cheers to you.  For everyone who did something just because it was the right thing to do… cheers to you.  You survived another year.  And though I may be a stranger to some of you reading this, I genuinely mean it when I say good for you.  You go!  Because individuals who overcome struggle, stranger or friend, inspire me to overcome my own and to keep the positive mindset I have. Cheers to you, truly.

Here’s to 2015!  May it be a positive, happy, and healthy one.  May you have no regrets and no words left unspoken.


c0d155dbc988b5e6294b6ff37f08ae71

And a special shout out to my very special support system… from my amazing family who encourages me always, to my wonderful boyfriend who keeps me sane and always makes me smile (power couple!), to my loyal friends who have my back and keep me laughing.  You all mean so very much to me.

One thought on “Cheers To You

Leave a Reply

