Home » Uncategorized » The Nectar List

The Nectar List

2d83b4c710df9645d640838d65f70f9f

My professor used the word nectar in a sentence in one of my classes today.  I had never heard the word nectar used in any other class but science, you know to describe a flower.  So, me being the English dork that I am, googled it.  Turns out, nectar is slang for “to live.”  As I googled though I came across something called, “The Nectar Lists.”  I was intrigued, read up on it, and feel the need to share it.

It’s sort of like a bucket list, but instead of acknowledging things that you want to do, it’s acknowledging things that you have already done that you feel are noteworthy.  I guess we could say it’s like the “nectar” in the flower of your life…? (I’ll even admit, that was super cheesy).  But, I think this is such a cool idea, and a great little pick me up to remind yourself that you are unique, accomplished, and that you ARE making moves.

As I made my list, I was hung up after number two.  I had two major accomplishments that came to mind, and then I really had to think about anything else.  Why is this?  Because I let little accomplishments fall to the side.  I didn’t think they mattered enough.  I think we are all guilty of this.

So, my message to all of you is to recognize all your accomplishments.  Any action you take to improve yourself, your life, or someone else’s life; despite how little it may seem, is actually a big deal.  I challenge all of you to make your own nectar list.

I’ll let you see just a snippet of my own…

1.  I’ve overcome being bullied and cyberbullied.

2.  I’ve stayed true to myself and my morals even though people tried to change me or squash my values.

3.  I graduated from High School and am in my final year of college.

4.  I have dance battled a stranger… and won.

5.  I have surprised the general public with something that I’ve said (just ask my parents, this happens often).

6.  I have made people laugh until they cried.

7.  I have mastered countless raps breaking any “white girl” stereotype (not to brag but some include Eminem’s “Rap God” and Busta Rhymes verse in “Look At Me Now”).

8.  I have been able to laugh at myself.

9.  I have moved people to tears with certain pieces that I’ve written.

10.  I’ve empowered someone.

So you see, any accomplishment, is still an accomplishment.  Note your successes.  Make that nectar list.  Applaud yourself.

Leave a Reply

