Home » Uncategorized » Irony

Irony

I took a Summer class which thankfully has ended because although I’m ambitious, I’m also exhausted.  But, for this Summer class we had to write a poem based off of a picture.  I was always taught to write what you know and about what is going on in your life.  Right now I’m dealing with a knee injury (see the post “Heavy Heart” if you want the full story), and so naturally I picked a photo about dance.

 

Here’s the picture….

Image

 

and here’s the poem… 

Dear Dance

You were there for me throughout the years.

You often heard my cries.

You saw me at my weakest points.

You always encouraged me to survive.

You never once judged me.

You didn’t ever count me out.

You believed in me and my fight.

You repeatedly eased my doubts.

You were the one that I could count on.

You held the biggest spot in my heart.

You were the one behind my smile.

And yet you were the reason I fell apart.

Still I look at you with awe today and so much appreciation.

You taught me what it is to love and how to deal with devastation.

 

I address dance as a being in this poem.  Dance was my friend when I didn’t have any (see the “Cyberbullying” post).  Dance kept me sane and stable.  Therefore, dance is just as much a person as anyone in my eyes.

After reading this poem in class the other day though, I realized the weight of the line “And yet you were the reason I fell apart.”  It occurred to me that so many things that make us feel alive, are often the same things that manage to somehow drag us down.  It’s like we find the beauty in something and then it blinds us.  It’s quite ironic.

Why does that happen?  Why does it have to be like that?  I’ll never know.  But maybe it’s the universe’s way to tell us to stop, take a breath, live in the moment, and appreciate every aspect of this sometimes crazy, chaotic life.

 

 

 

“Be happy for this moment.  This moment is your life.” – Omar Khayyam

Leave a Reply

