Home » Uncategorized » Laugh Out Loud

Laugh Out Loud

One thing I pride myself for, is being able to find either a lesson or a laugh (or both), in every life situation.  Though in the moment of the situation, I may not see it, I’m able to pull back and see things in perspective.

I’ve been through my fair share of obstacles, and I can truthfully say, I’m most thankful for those obstacles because they’ve molded me into the person I am, and ultimately always wanted to be.  It may sound cliche but it’s the truth.

Anyone who knows me knows that one thing I enjoy more than writing, dancing, and watching the Yankees (and drooling over Derek Jeter) is laughing.  I know what you’re thinking, “Everyone loves to laugh!”  While this is true, it’s become a bit deeper for me.  See, me laughing is not only to emote that I found something comical, it’s a way for me to keep my sanity (or what’s left of it).  

In all seriousness, I am fully convinced that sometimes God turns to me for humor.  And I’m honored, really I am, because I know my reactions to situations are pretty entertaining (I’ve seen some of them – courtesy of my friends recording me).  But, I know the bigger reason God lets crazy, abstract things happen to me – is because he knows I can handle it.  He knows that instead of crying with certain situations, like most would, that I’ll manage to pull away and laugh …loudly.

Anyone who knows me will also tell you that when a series of, “Are you joking?” moments pile on top of me, I will turn around and say “Might as well laugh” (which will someday be the title of my autobiography – so keep an eye out!).  And it’s true, because really what else are you supposed to do? Cry?  No one wants to be, to see, or to deal with an emotional wreck.  Besides, what is crying doing (aside from ruining your eye make up and giving you a headache)?  The answer is nothing productive.  

So me, I choose laughter – because not only does it leave me headache free, it also burns calories, but it keeps my soul merry.  My entire view on a situation will instantly change, all from a chuckle.  Laughter somehow ignites the determination in me to prove to the universe that yes, you could poke fun at me, but I’ll still rise to any occasion.

So, what are you waiting for?  Look life in the eye and laugh already!  If no one complains that you’re laughing too loudly, then you’re doing something wrong.  Laugh!  I can’t hear you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

